Connecting to new computer

Discussions about Diving Log 6.0 - questions and hints
Post Reply
Gasman
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 21:50

Connecting to new computer

Post by Gasman »

Hi,
I have now moved to a new laptop.

I have moved all the programs I need to this laptop, Diving Log 6 being one of them.

Just trying out my leads in preparation of a holiday diving, into a dummy log file.
I have a memomouse and the Aladin original lead.

I have tried with the Memomouse and the Z Nitrox, and ge the errors below in the log?
I have the same seial to USB lead that I used before.

What am I missing please?
I have installed the PL2303 USB to Serial driver
I am using this lead https://plugable.com/products/pl2303-db9

00:00:000 INFO: 2023-01-14 16:22:31
00:00:000 INFO: Libdivecomputer version: 0.8.0-devel (79c9c5b7f97251c7879e939a539be26abb3c626c)
00:00:000 INFO: Diving Log version: 6.0.27.0
00:00:001 INFO: Windows version: Windows 10 (22H2 | Build 19045), 6.3.19045
00:00:001 INFO: OnlyNewDives=True, FingerprintAvailable=False, LastDiveDate=
00:00:001 INFO: Start download (Serial): Uwatec Aladin Air Z Nitrox
00:00:284 INFO: Device Name: Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (COM7)
00:00:285 INFO: Open: name=COM7
00:00:285 ERROR: Access is denied (5) [in serial_win32.c:326 (dc_serial_open)]
00:00:287 ERROR: DC_STATUS_NOACCESS

00:00:000 INFO: 2023-01-14 16:25:47
00:00:000 INFO: Libdivecomputer version: 0.8.0-devel (79c9c5b7f97251c7879e939a539be26abb3c626c)
00:00:000 INFO: Diving Log version: 6.0.27.0
00:00:001 INFO: Windows version: Windows 10 (22H2 | Build 19045), 6.3.19045
00:00:001 INFO: OnlyNewDives=True, FingerprintAvailable=False, LastDiveDate=
00:00:001 INFO: Start download (Serial): Uwatec Memomouse
00:00:292 INFO: Device Name: Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (COM7)
00:00:293 INFO: Open: name=COM7
00:00:293 ERROR: Access is denied (5) [in serial_win32.c:326 (dc_serial_open)]
00:00:300 ERROR: DC_STATUS_NOACCESS



TIA
divinglog
Site Admin
Posts: 5640
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 21:02
Location: Coburg
Contact:

Re: Connecting to new computer

Post by divinglog »

Hi

DC_STATUS_NOACCESS means, Diving Log cannot use the selected COM port. Either the port is not correct (which I don't think in your case), or another application is blocking the COM port or the driver is not working (does not look so) or a security software is blocking the access.

So the COM port is blocked and cannot be used for some reason.

Kind regards,
Sven
Gasman
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 21:50

Re: Connecting to new computer

Post by Gasman »

Hmm,
Windows says it is working properly.
I changed it to Com1 with no difference.

Anyway to test everything? I am using the same leads I have always used
Prolific USB to RS232 9Pin adapter
Male to female RS232 lead, stright through.
Original Aladin RS232 cable with red and black leads.
Aladin memomouse.

Edit: I might have a 9 pin gender changer plug.
Will see if that makes any difference.

Edit: I do not, but have ordered 2. :D
Last edited by Gasman on Tue Jan 17, 2023 16:23, edited 1 time in total.
divinglog
Site Admin
Posts: 5640
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 21:02
Location: Coburg
Contact:

Re: Connecting to new computer

Post by divinglog »

COM 1 is usually not correct, so if COM 7 is the only other port, that should be the right one. Check device manager for any obvious problems, restart the PC and check any securtiy programs, if you have any installed.
Gasman
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 21:50

Re: Connecting to new computer

Post by Gasman »

Well in Advance settings I have plenty of com ports, all the way to 24. :D
It tells me 3 to 6 are in use.

I seem to recall from my old days that the com ports shared interrupts?

It picked 7 when I first inserted it. I just tried the first free port as a test.
divinglog
Site Admin
Posts: 5640
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 21:02
Location: Coburg
Contact:

Re: Connecting to new computer

Post by divinglog »

You have to check Windows Device Manager for the right one. Usually there are not so many ports:


Image
Gasman
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 21:50

Re: Connecting to new computer

Post by Gasman »

Well in Advance settings I have plenty of com ports, all the way to 24. :D
It tells me 3 to 6 are in use.

I seem to recall from my old days that the com ports shared interrupts?

It picked 7 when I first inserted it. I just tried the first free port as a test.

In Events I have
Driver Management has concluded the process to add Service Ser2pl for Device Instance ID USB\VID_067B&PID_2303\5&E2E5D6F&0&4 with the following status: 0.

Driver Management has concluded the process to add Service Serenum for Device Instance ID USB\VID_067B&PID_2303\5&E2E5D6F&0&4 with the following status: 0.

DM says This device is working properly.

Also recognised as being from prolific. I found two other USB to RS232 9 pin leads, but windows says no drivers, nor can find any.
I will have had them for ages. No markings on one of them to say where from. The other has UC-232A

OK the UC-232A is apparently from Aten.
Downloaded that driver and installed it.
Now I can download from the memomouse.
When I take that out of the line and use the Aladin lead, it just hangs.
The Aten lead was on COM8.

At least I am not getting the NO_ACCESS immediately. I am still getting it now and again, but will persevere. :D

I will call it a day for now.
divinglog
Site Admin
Posts: 5640
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 21:02
Location: Coburg
Contact:

Re: Connecting to new computer

Post by divinglog »

You're clicking on "Download" first and then switch on the Aladin into logbook mode, right? When the Memomouse works, the Aladin directly should work also. Make also sure to change the "Computer" dropdown between "Memomouse" and "Aladin" in the download dialog.
Post Reply